2018 Awards

Two Honor Awards were given to VMDO for the Lynchburg City Stadium Renovation and the Brooks Family YMCA.

Two Merit Awards were given to Hays + Ewing Design Studio for the Linkhorn Bay House and Grimm+ Parker Architects for the Sterling Branch Library.

Four Honorable Mentions were awarded. Alloy Workshop earned one for Vitae Spirits. Stantec earned an Honorable Mention for the Frederick County Middle School. VMDO took two Honorable Mentions for the Georgia Institute of Technology Glenn and Towers Residence Halls and the Harrisonburg City Public Schools Elon W. Rhodes Early Learning Center.

2018 Honors

The Milton Grigg Award is the highest award we bestow on a member architect, to honor a distinguished, sustained, body of accomplishments.  Award winner’s work spans the spectrum of the profession and transcends the scope of normal professional activities. 

This year’s recipient of the Milton Grigg Award is Ed Ford for his teaching, research, writing and service to the profession.

Through his long career, Ed has served our profession as a celebrated architect, author, artist and educator.  His books are standard texts in architectural education in most universities and have been called ‘exceptional’, ‘indispensable works’ and named “Books every Architect should read” by the NYTimes, Kenneth Frampton and the Museum of Modern Art.  

His work has been supported by grants from the Graham Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts, and he’s been an Artist in Residence at Grand Canyon, Petrified Forest National Parks, and was a Fellow at The MacDowell Colony.  

Ed’s architectural work has won many awards, is the subject of the book Five Houses, Ten Details and has been featured in countless books, publications and exhibitions, including House and Garden Channel’s ‘Extreme Homes’.

Ed has educated a generation of architects at the University of Virginia, Princeton, Columbia, Downing College at the University of Cambridge and the University of Oregon. He has lectured at over 30 universities and institutions, at home and abroad, and in September of 2018 the work of one of his design studios was selected by Architecture Magazine for The Studio Prize “highlighting the most innovative courses in architectural schools across North America.” 

The Chapter Honors are given to members of the Central Virginia Chapter of the AIA who have distinguished themselves in design, practice, education, or in service to the profession or as a “citizen architect”.  This Honor can serve as an accolade for the work of an entire career, or as recognition of the current accomplishments of a younger leader.

In 2018 we recognized two architects:  Karen Van Lengen and Dan Zimmerman.

Karen has a history of “firsts.” After graduating from Columbia with her M. Arch, she went to work for I. M. Pei, where she became the first woman Design Associate. 

In 1999 Karen moved to Charlottesville to serve as the first woman Dean of the University of Virginia’s School of Architecture, a position she held until 2009.  As Dean, she founded “Campbell Constructions”, a program to use the design faculty to renovate the building and landscape of Campbell Hall.  Throughout her time as Dean, Karen worked to develop cross-disciplinary education and research to address the complex environmental and cultural challenges that she dubbed, “The Architecture of Urgent Matters”.  In 2010, Karen won the Zintyl Award at UVA, for her work in championing women at the University.  As a fellow of the UVA Institute for Advanced Technologies in the Humanities, she continues her research on the aural character of significant buildings. With Jim Welty and IAHT, she created “Soundscape Architecture”, work that has been exhibited at the Museum of the City of New York and Cooper Hewitt.

Currently, Karen continues to work on another project for the Academical Village. She also continues to serve the AIA, as jury chair of the AIA Virginia Design Awards, on dozens of juries around the country and made the winning presentation to National AIA for Jim Polshek to win last year’s AIA Gold Medal.  AIA Central Virginia thanks you for your service and dedication to the AIA.


Since moving to Charlottesville in 2004, Dan Zimmerman has earned his reputation as a committed and community-minded architec who can still rock a skateboard.  Over the last 14 years he co-founded an award-winning architecture and construction business, Alloy Workshop.

He has also been deeply and continuously engaged with the community through the Charlottesville Community Design Center, the Charlottesville Neighborhood Leadership Institute (NLI), Charlottesville Advisory Committees for the relocation of the City Market as well as the City Skatepark.

Finally, since graduating from the ELA (Emerging Leaders in Architecture) academy, Dan has provided continuous leadership for the AIA at both the local and state level and has been instrumental in the revitalization of our AIA Central Virginia.  He has organized multiple Architecture Week events, strengthened ties with UVA students, connected architects with local non-profits, served on the local board for six years, and advocated for our profession with our state and local representatives.  He is now in his third year as an AIA VA board member and currently serves on the Executive Committee as the Vice President for Member Services.  Bringing it full circle, Dan continues to share his experiences as a member of the ELA steering committee.  AIA Central Virginia thanks you for your service and dedication to the AIA.

Community Service is the Chapter award honoring an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to the built environment or the public’s awareness of the built environment within Central Virginia.

Our 2018 Community Service Award Winner is Frank Dukes, Ph.D., a mediator and facilitator who directed the Institute for Environmental Negotiation (IEN) at UVA from 2000 to 2015.  Community and civic engagement is a core part of his work and his life as a citizen. He teaches the class “Collaborative Planning for Sustainability,” during which he and students work with community partners like Public Housing Association of Residents (PHAR), Habitat for Humanity, and the Thomas Jefferson Regional Planning District Commission to design collaborative processes that address those partners’ needs. He has convened and facilitated numerous collaborative change processes, including discussions involving Appalachian communities affected by or undergoing transition in the coalfields, evaluation and facilitation in the Chesapeake Bay watershed, and building consensus for how UVA should best respond to sexual violence.

He also is founder of the University & Community Action for Racial Equity (UCARE), leads community engagement as a member of the design team for UVA’s Memorial to Enslaved Laborers, and co-leads IEN’s “Transforming Community Spaces” project, providing support for communities addressing deep differences over monuments, memorials, and other public representations of racial history.  He was a member of the 2016 Charlottesville Commission on Race, Memorials and Public Spaces, a co-founder and core faculty of the Virginia Natural Resources Leadership Institute and a board member of the national anti-hate group “Not In Our Town.”

He is the author or co-author of several books, including Resolving Public Conflict: Transforming Community and Governance, Reaching for Higher Ground: Tools for Powerful Groups and Communities, and Mountaintop Mining in Appalachia.  He is the winner of the 2012 Sharon M. Pickett Award for Environmental Conflict Resolution, presented by the Association for Conflict Resolution, and UVA’s 2016 Casteen Diversity - Equity - Inclusion Leadership Award.   AIA Central Virginia thanks you for your service and dedication to our community.